Dog Days of Campaigns

Got this email from the Lee Fisher for Senate campaign Saturday on his 59th birthday.  Ostensibly written by his father Stan.  Apparently I am to vote for Lee because Stan played football for Woody Hayes at New Philadelphia High School:

Adam,

Help Lee celebrate his birthday with a contributionWhen I was in high school, I was lucky enough to play football for a coach loved by a lot of Ohioans: Woody Hayes.

He led our team at New Philadelphia High years before he ever went to Ohio State, and he was a great coach even then. While I can’t say Coach Hayes turned me into a great football player, he taught me a lot about playing the game.

He would tell our team that it is easy to play a perfect game if you’re sitting in the stands. When you’re in the game, you’re going to get knocked down. Winning is about how strong you are when you get back up.

When my son Lee was born on August 7, 1951, I knew that was a lesson I wanted him to learn; fifty-nine years later, I couldn’t be more proud of the way he’s played the game.

Help Lee celebrate his birthday with a campaign contribution of $5 today.

Lee is a tireless advocate for Ohio families, a relentless fighter on behalf of the middle class, and a hard worker who won’t stop until he’s done everything he can to solve the problems put in front of him.

While he might have had an easier time if he’d chosen to live a quiet life, he knows that the work he can do on the field is worth taking a hit or two.

I know Lee will be an incredible force when he’s elected to the U.S. Senate, but he needs your help to get past Congressman Rob Portman’s dishonest hits on his record and his character.

To celebrate Lee’s birthday, please help support the campaign with a contribution of $5 now.

Nothing makes me prouder than seeing my son use his life to serve his community and country, so it’s my birthday wish for Lee that you’ll do what you can to celebrate his birthday today.

Thanks,

Stan Fisher

Contribute today!

Paid for by Fisher for Ohio
P.O. Box 1418
Columbus, Ohio 43216

Leave a Reply

