Pirates Continue Trying to Lose

Just came across this on an AP wire.  Apparently the Pirates have sent Nate McLouth, last year’s All Star, to Atlanta for 3 prospects:

http://www.salon.com/wires/ap/2009/06/03/D98JGFA01_bbn_braves_pirates_trade/

It used to be that they waited until a player’s contract year to dump them for buckets of warm spit.  But I guess they got desperate given the fact they don’t have anyone in their contract year this year and crapped a good player out of their system early.  Pirates management need to go back on the Metamucil, because they have gone from being regular to having diarrhea.

In all seriousness, how are fans supposed to root for this team?!?  I mean, seriously, are they owned by the same shrew that owned the Indians in Major League?  Screw the Pirates.  I’m done.  I’m out.  I will not write of them again unless its in the context of writing about something else, like when they play a team that tries to win games and I feel like writing about that.  Maybe they’ll be playing in big games in September because their opponent is trying to be successful.  But I don’t care anymore.  I have turned my back and they are dead to me.  There will be  a “Pirates” category on this blog for continuity b/c of old posts under that heading.  This will be the last one.  Go Pens!  Go Steelers!  Go Indians!

One Response to “Pirates Continue Trying to Lose”

  1. Kevin Snyder Says:

    For what it is worth, I have seen multiple baseball people say that they thought last year was McLouth’s “career” year. I realize though that this issue of course has been “building over time” to say the least. As for the Indians, it would be nice if they were giving fans reason to get “fired up” in a good way this year, but alas ….. well you never know I guess.

Leave a Reply

