Comcast Losing Carriage Rights Agreement With NFL

It apparently expires in April, and the NFL is trying to drive a hard bargain by insisting that Comcast put the NFL Network in their basic digital tier.  Right now Comcast has it in the sports tier.

http://awfulannouncing.blogspot.com/2009/03/drop-from-comcast-could-cost-nfl-n-over.html

I can see both sides of this dispute.  I mean, the NFL is a niche channel that probably belongs in the sports tier.  On the other hand, I have Comcast and I get the golf channel on expanded basic right in line with ESPN, ESPN2, my local Fox Sports affiliate, and Versus.  Either way, I fervently hope they work something out, as that would drive me nuts to not be able to watch the NFL when a game is being played.  Hopefully they work something out in time for the NFL-N slate of games in November and December.

Leave a Reply

